I look forward to writing this wrap-up post more than I look forward to picking out my Book of the Month…. that’s saying something!

Compared to January, February was a flop. I’m sorry, it just was. There were excellent books but some books were so unimpressive that I was thrown into a dramatically bad reading slump (and made me evaluate how we look at art).

Without further ado, here are all of my February reads!

Lore of the Wilds by Analeigh Sbrana

Highly Recommend

Started my month off with this GORGEOUS novel. The titular character, Lore, is someone you can’t help but root for. Netgalley and Harper Voyager provided me with an advanced copy, you can read my review here.

Edgar Allen Poe Short Stories

A Classic

I watched The Fall of the House of Usher on Netflix and immediately had to consult my copy of Poe’s collected works. The show blew me away because it’s a love letter to Poe’s works and legacy. 10/10 all around.

Disorientation by Elaine Hsieh Chou

DNF

This book has everything that I love in a ~weird girl fiction~ novel, but my copy of it was due back at the library too soon for me to savor it. I will be picking this one back up another time!

True Biz by Sarah Nović

Highly Recommend

This is a gem of a novel. I love when books can put me into the heads of characters with experiences other than my own. I appreciated the history and language lessons between chapters so the reader can learn alongside the main character, Charlie.

The Prison Healer by Lynette Noni

DNF

This book taught me that I need to stop trying to read popular YA fantasy.

Bunny by Mona Awad

Highly Recommend

2024 is the year of weird girl fiction for me. Awad paints such a clear picture of the Bunnies that I felt like I could hear them myself. Dizzying and uncomfortable in the best ways possible.

Powerless by Lauren Roberts

DNF

This book is the reading slump culprit I mentioned earlier. This book has an overplayed story with boring writing to boot. Not for me. I’ll have more to say about this in a blog post coming soon.

Carrying Into March

To Gaze Upon Wicked Gods by Molly X. Chang

I’ve been joking on my Instagram that March is really mARCh – I have SO many cool ARCs that I get to read and share with you guys next month. To Gaze Upon Wicked Gods is the first book in that gauntlet.

The Mayor of Maxwell Street by Avery Cunningham

This was my February Book of the Month selection, and I love it so far!

Make sure to subscribe to my newsletter so you don’t miss a single mARCh review!

March may as well be mARCh because I have 5 (five!!!!) awesome ARCs to read. I’m so excited to share these new releases with you guys!

Leave a comment

I’m Elle

Welcome to Literary Elle! Join me on my journey of exploring life at 23 through good books, good food, and good company.

Let’s connect

Discover more from Literary Elle

Subscribe now to never miss a review!

Continue reading

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started